Carlos Bocanegra came very close to getting elected to the NSHOF. (Tim Heitman-USA TODAY Sports)

By Michael Lewis Editor

Here is the top 15 vote-getters in the 2019 National Soccer Hall of Fame player balloting.

There was only one player who broke the minimum (two-thirds, 66.7 percent) needed to get elected — former U.S. national team star Abby Wambach.

In her first year on the ballot, Wambach’s name was on 80.90 percent of the ballots.

Former U.S. men’s national team captain Carlos Bocanegra came closest to being elected, receiving 64.61 votes.

The list was released by U.S. Soccer.

The entire list:

Abby Wambach — 80.60

Carlos Bocanegra – 64.61

Steve Cherundolo – 51.69

David Beckham – 42.13

Shannon Boxx – 42.13

Kate Sobrero Markgraf – 41.57

Frankie Hejduk – 41.01

Jamie Moreno – 36.52

Lauren Cheney Holiday – 30.90

Taylor Twellman – 26.97

Clint Mathis – 25.28

Gregg Berhalter – 24.16

Steve Ralston – 24.16

Ben Olsen – 23.03

Tony Sanneh – 20.22

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at