Christian Pulisic received 31 points in the Kopa voting. (Charles LeClaire-USA TODAY Sports)

U.S. international midfielder Christian Pulisic Monday finished second to French international Kylian Mbappe of Paris St-Germain, who became the first winner of the Kopa Trophy.

The honor is awarded to the player voted the best Under-21 player in the world.

The new award is named after French international Raymond Kopa, who became the first French player to win the Ballon d’Or for his excellent performance at the 1958 World Cup.

Mbappe collected 100 points while Pulisic, who performs for Borussia Dortmund, garnered 31 points. Justin Kluivert was third with 18.

The full voting:

1. Kylian Mbappe (110 points)

2. Christian Pulisic (31)

3. Justin Kluivert (18)

4. (tie) Rodrygo (12)

4. (tie) Gianluigi Donnarumma (12)

6. Trent Alexander-Arnold (6)

7. Patrick Cutrone (5)

8. Houssem Aouar (4)

9. (tie) Ritsu Doan

10. (tie) Amadou Haidara (0)

In the big award, Luka Modric broke the decade-long reign of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi on the Ballon d’Or. Modric amassed 753 points while Cristiano Ronaldo was second with 476 points. Antoine Griezmann was third with 414 points, Mbappe next with 347 and Messi completed the top five with 280.

Modric has secured major awards in the last five months. The 33-year-old midfielder was awarded the Golden Ball as the best player at the 2018 World Cup, and the UEFA Champions League player of the year and FIFA’s Best Player for 2018 awards.