CHICAGO – U.S. Soccer Tuesday announced the finalists for the U.S. female players of the year.

The five finalists are midfielders Julie Ertz and Lindsey Horan, and forwards Tobin Heath, Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe for the WNT.

All five USWNT nominees played significant roles for the national team during a 2018 that saw the USA finish its 20-game schedule with an 18-0-2 record. The five nominees also were impact players on the squad that qualified the USA for the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France.

Morgan finished with 18 goals in 19 games while playing 1,500 minutes, the most of anyone on the team.

Ertz again was a vital cog in the midfield, playing more than 1,000 minutes for the third time in her career while scoring four goals.

In her comeback year after sitting out most of 2017 due to injuries, Heath provided consistent danger in the attacking third, scoring seven goals in eight starts while adding six assists.

Rapinoe led the team in assists with 12, tying her previous high for most in a year and her play on the flank was a big part of the USA’s consistent success. She scored seven goals and started all 16 games in which she played.

The 24-year-old Horan had a stellar year for club and country and won the National Women’s Soccer League MVP award. She played in every game but one for the USA, tying Morgan for most.

Three of the nominees have won the U.S. Soccer female player of the year award before: Ertz won in 2017, Heath in 2016 and Morgan earned the honor in 2012. Ertz (neé Johnston), Heath, and Horan captured the U.S. Soccer young female player of the year award, with Heath winning in 2009, Ertz in 2012 and Horan in 2013.

Voting for the award started Tuesday and closes Dec. 3 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

Votes for U.S. Soccer player of the year awards are collected from respective national team coaches, international players who earned a cap in 2018, members of the U.S. Soccer board of directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council, National Women’s Soccer League head coaches for the USWNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the MNT, select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the WNT award.