HARRISON, N.J. – Red Bulls midfielder Tyler Adams has been named a finalist for the U.S. Soccer male player of the Year Award, U.S. Soccer announced Tuesday.

Voting for the award started Tuesday and closes Dec. 3 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

The 19-year-old Adams has risen quickly in the international scene, making his senior debut last November against Portugal and being named to every U.S. roster since. Adams scored his first international goal in a 2-0 victory over Mexico Sept. 11.

Adams made 27 regular-season appearances and set a career-high with seven assists from a holding midfield role with the Red Bulls. The Wappingers Falls, N.Y. native helped lead the Red Bulls to the Supporters’ Shield while setting MLS records for points (71) and wins (22). New York is set to begin the Eastern Conference championship of the MLS Cup Playoffs with the first leg against Atlanta United FC Sunday and the return leg Thursday, Nov. 29 at Red Bull Arena.

Adams was named a finalist alongside midfielders Weston McKennie and Wil Trapp, defender and fellow Red Bulls academy product Matt Miazga and goalkeeper Zach Steffen. The finalists for female player of the year award were also announced, with midfielders Julie Ertz and Lindsey Horan and forwards Tobin Heath, Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe.

Votes for U.S. Soccer player of the year awards are collected from respective national team coaches, international players who earned a cap in 2018, members of the U.S. Soccer board of directors, U.S. Soccer Athletes’ Council, National Women’s Soccer League head coaches for the USWNT and American soccer league (MLS and USL) head coaches for the MNT, select media members and former players and administrators. In addition, select college coaches vote for the WNT award.

The U.S. Soccer male player of the uear has been awarded since 1984 when Rick Davis earned it. Current USMNT general manager Earnie Stewart won it in 2001. Landon Donovan holds the record for most awards, winning it four times, while Clint Dempsey captured it on three occasions. Christian Pulisic, then 18, became the youngest player to win the award in 2017.