Major League Soccer Tuesday announced Atlanta United head coach Gerardo “Tata” Martino as its coach of the year.

Red Bulls boss Chris Armas, who took over from the departed Jesse Marsch in June, finished fifth in the voting, despite directing the team to the Supporters Shield as regular-season champions.

Martino deployed a coaching philosophy that featured complementary star players alongside developing young talent. His strategy led Atlanta United to the league’s best regular season road record (10-5-2), and in the process, tied the previous all-time points record (69) and surpassed the previous post-shootout season wins record (20) with 21 regular-season victories. The Red Bulls led the league with 22 victories.

Atlanta outscored every MLS club this year, netting consecutive 70-goal seasons for the first time in league history.

Over his two-year tenure, Martino’s coaching style has featured star power with an eye on the future. This season, Atlanta’s two MLS Best XI player honorees were also two of the top five Landon Donovan Most Valuable Player candidates in 24-year-old Miguel Almirón, and 25-year-old Josef Martínez. While Martínez set a new single-season scoring record with 31 goals, Martino also groomed a trio of teenagers, including 19-year-old Ezequiel Barco, 16-year-old George Bello, and 18-year-old Andrew Carleton, who combined for more than 2,000 minutes, 23 starts, and 36 appearances.

Martino received 32.72 percent of the average vote, compiled from three groups: active players, media and club technical staff.

Coach of the Year  Player Vote Club Vote Media Vote Final %
Gerardo “Tata” Martino (ATL) 46.92% 29.91% 21.32% 32.72%
Bob Bradley (LAFC) 20.53% 14.95% 31.53% 22.34%
Peter Vermes (SKC) 6.16% 15.89% 10.81% 10.95%
Jim Curtin (PHI) 3.81% 13.08% 7.51% 8.13%
Chris Armas (NY) 5.87% 3.74% 13.81% 7.81%

MLS Coach of the Year Winners:
2018: Gerardo “Tata” Martino – Atlanta United
2017: Greg Vanney – Toronto FC
2016: Oscar Pareja – FC Dallas
2015: Jesse Marsch – New York Red Bulls
2014: Ben Olsen – D.C. United
2013: Caleb Porter – Portland Timbers
2012: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2011: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2010: Schellas Hyndman – FC Dallas
2009: Bruce Arena – LA Galaxy
2008: Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew SC
2007: Preki – Chivas USA
2006: Bob Bradley – Chivas USA
2005: Dominic Kinnear – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Greg Andrulis – Columbus Crew SC
2003: Dave Sarachan – Chicago Fire
2002: Steve Nicol – New England Revolution
2001: Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Bob Gansler – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Sigi Schmid – LA Galaxy
1998: Bob Bradley – Chicago Fire
1997: Bruce Arena – D.C. United
1996: Thomas Rongen – Tampa Bay Mutiny