The National Women’s Soccer League announced Monday the list of 2018 NWSL Awards.

Those awards feature the Most Valuable Player, defender of the year, goalkeeper of the year, rookie of the year, coach of the year and Best XI. The 2018 NWSL Awards will be voted upon in two rounds with fans again participating in the voting process.

In the preliminary round, owners, general managers, coaches, players and the media will vote on the individual awards from Sept. 10 to Wednesday, Sept. 12 at 12 p.m. ET to determine the finalists.

The fans will then join the voting via an online link for the final round from Friday, Sept. 14 to Sunday, Sept. 16 at 11:59 p.m. ET to determine the individual award winners and Best XI.

Voting Breakdown

Preliminary round: Owners/GMs/Coaches (25 percent), Media (25 percent) and Players (50 percent)

Final round: Fans (20 percent), Owners/GMs/Coaches (20 percent), Media (20 percent) and Players (40 percent)

The winners will be announced in the days leading up to and following the NWSL Championship Saturday, Sept. 22 at 4:30 p.m. ET on Lifetime at Providence Park in Portland, Ore.

The announcement schedule

Wednesday, Sept. 19: Best XI/Second XI

Tuesday, Sept. 25: MVP

Wednesday, Sept. 26: Rookie of the year/Coach of the year

Thursday, Sept. 27: Goalkeeper of the year/Defender of the year

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at