The National Soccer Hall of Fame is soliciting nominations for the 2018 Colin Jose Media Award.

Created in 2003 to honor the contributions of members of the media community, the award is presented as part of the annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

The award is designed to recognize print and electronic media, including reporters, columnists, authors, broadcasters, editors; public/media relations professionals; and others who specialize in communications with respect to soccer in the United States.

The award is named after Colin Jose, one of the original historians of the Hall of Fame and the American game. He has written extensively on the evolution of the game in the United States and is responsible for much of the research that forms the basis of American and Canadian soccer history.

* Nominees should have been involved with the game at multiple levels for an extended period of years (suggested minimum is 25 years).

* The body of work/coverage of should include the U.S. national teams, including matches outside the United States rather than limited solely to local leagues. In order to separate quality candidates the selection committee would rate, in order, World Cup work/coverage, World Cup qualifying work/coverage, other FIFA competition work/coverage, domestic league (MLS, NASL, etc.) work/coverage, and college work/coverage.

* While it would not be necessary for any award winner to have worked at all of these levels, the checklist will be used to attempt to quantify the level of work across the spectrum of the game.

* In the case of writers/editors/broadcasters/photographers, the body of work should have appeared in publications/networks/outlets with impact. In assessing a body of work, the selection committee will give precedence (in order) to national publications/broadcasts, local professional league coverage, national college and youth coverage, local college and youth coverage. The work should be the result of original journalism, not simply “press release” journalism, and it should have enjoyed regularity of placement.

* In the case of candidates whose discipline was public relations/media services or editorial, the same criteria as above should be followed with the obvious concept that the work is different in nature. Nevertheless, the same evaluation “ladder” can be utilized with simple modifications.

* In cases where there is a potential winner who is retired, or significantly near the end of a career, the award should go to that individual ahead of a comparable candidate who perhaps can be honored at a later date.

The Colin Jose Media award committee membership includes selected past winners, a representative from U.S. Soccer, a representative from Major League Soccer, at-large representatives, and a Hall of Fame representative selected by the National Soccer Hall of Fame board of directors.

The deadline is Sept. 5. The nomination form can be downloaded here .

For more information or for submitting your nomination, please don’t hesitate to contact me Elizabeth Sánchez at

Colin Jose Award winners

2017 – Jim Trecker, media relations
2016 – Paul Kennedy, Soccer America, print media
2013 – George Vecsey, New York Times, print media
2012 – Grahame Jones, Los Angeles Times, print media
2010 – Paul Gardner, Soccer America, print media
2009 – Alex Yannis, New York Times print media
2008 – Ike Kuhns, Newark Star-Ledger, print media
2007 – George Tiedemann, Sports Illustrated/freelance photography
2005 – Seamus Malin, ESPN and other television broadcasters
2004 – Jerry Trecker, Hartford Courant, print media