CHICAGO — The Philadelphia Union will host the Chicago Fire in the Eastern semifinal of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Aug. 8, while the Houston Dynamo will open their doors for Los Angeles Football Club in the Western semifinal that same day.

The hosts were determined during a draw at Soccer House in Chicago Monday.

Immediately after the semifinal hosts were confirmed, the draw to determine the hosting priority for the final was held.

All four potential finalists were drawn at random to set the priority ranking.
Chicago has first priority to host the final Oct. 3 should the Fire advance. Second priority went to Houston, followed by Los Angeles and, in last spot, Philadelphia, who will not be eligible to host the final but would require the match to be played Sept. 26 if the team reached the title game.

Of the four teams still in contention, only Chicago has won the competition — in 1998, 2000, 2003 and 2006. The first two times happened with current LAFC head coach Bob Bradley at the helm. Bradley has brought that same focus on the Cup to his new team in its maiden season, while Philadelphia head coach Jim Curtin, who won the Open Cup as a player with the Fire in 2003 and 2006, has his side aiming for yet another final after guiding it to the title game in 2014 and 2015.

The Dynamo has reached the semifinal round for the third time, having done so in its inaugural year of 2006 and then in 2009. Houston never has reached the tournament final.



2018 U.S. Open Cup Semifinals

Date Game (home team listed first) Time Venue
Aug. 8 Philadelphia Union (MLS) vs. Chicago Fire (MLS) 7 p.m. ET Talen Energy Stadium; Chester, Pa.
Aug. 8 Houston Dynamo (MLS) vs. Los Angeles FC (MLS) 7:30 p.m. CT BBVA Compass Stadium; Houston, Texas

2018 U.S. Open Cup Final

Date Game (home team listed first) Time Venue
Sept. 26 Houston Dynamo (MLS) vs. Philadelphia Union (MLS)
TBD BBVA Compass Stadium; Houston, Texas
Sept. 26 Los Angeles FC (MLS) vs. Philadelphia Union (MLS)
TBD Banc of California Stadium; Los Angeles, Calif.
Oct. 3 Chicago Fire (MLS) vs. Houston Dynamo (MLS)/Los Angeles FC (MLS) winner TBD Toyota Park; Bridgeview, Ill.