CARY, N.C. – Lansdowne Bhoys could not overcome a well-oiled professional side and was eliminated by North Carolina FC in the second round of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup, 3-0, at Sahlen’s Stadium at WakeMed Soccer Park Wednesday.
Connor Tobin, who made his season debut and wore the captain’s armband, Marios Lomis and Bernhard Luxbacher each scored in the win over the defending National Amateur Cup champions and Cosmopolitan Soccer League side.
The United Soccer League club will host the Ocean City Nor’easters in the third-round action Tuesday at 7 p.m.
“Delighted with the result, a clean sheet,” NCFC head coach Colin Clarke said. “Got some minutes in to some younger kids at times. Overall, a pretty professional performance. It was good.”
The game turned into a dream start for NCFC and Tobin. In the second minute, a Kyle Bekker corner kick fell to Tobin, whose first touch of the season was a header that found the back of the net.
The hosts owned the bulk of the scoring chances in the opening half and nearly doubled the advantage in the 26th minute when midfielder Dre Fortune’s strike hit the crossbar.
Thirteen minutes later, Luxbacher led a two-on-one break and set up Lomis, whose effort was turned away by Lansdowne goalkeeper Abdoukarim Danso.
Lomis, however, couldn’t be denied in the 44th minute. A quick throw-in by former Red Bulls midfielder Austin da Luz made its way to Fortune, who sprinted up the right flank. He crossed to Lomis, who scored his second goal of the season from from close range.
NCFC preserved the shutout with a clean and organized defensive effort in the second half. Lansdowne’s best scoring opportunity after the halftime break came in the 70th minute when striker Ovan Oakley cut inside at the top of the 18-yard box and released a right-footed shot, that Tobin blocked.
Luxbacher all but sealed the victory with a 74th-minute goal, his first for NCFC. After tracking down a lofted ball into the box sent in by Bekker, Luxbacher rounded Danso and dribbled the ball into the net.
Scoring summary:
NCFC: Connor Tobin (Kyle Bekker, 2’), Marios Lomis (Dre Fortune, 44’) Bernhard Luxbacher (Kyle Bekker, 74’)
LAN: —
NCFC: Graham Smith 38’, Austin da Luz 78’
LAN: None
NCFC (4-5-1): Austin Guerrero; Aaron Guillen; Connor Tobin ©; Futty Danso; DJ Taylor; Austin da Luz (Peabo Doue, 79’); Kyle Bekker (Cameron Steele, 80’); Dre Fortune; Graham Smith (Nelson Blanco, 79’); Bernhard Luxbacher; Marios Lomis
Subs not used: Alex Tambakis; Michael Harrington; Steven Miller; Daniel Rios
LAN (4-2-2): Abdoukarim Danso; Jean Voltaire; Craig Purcell; Sean Kelly ©; Shane Campbell (Martin Dadaj, 67’); Jannik Lobe (Joseph Lopez, 61’); Daryl Kavanaugh; Michael Holzer; Patrick McCann; Ovan Oakley; Mamadou Guirassy (Andrew Sousa, 67’)