Michael Amir Murillo (above) hopes to play in his first World Cup for Panama. (Photo courtesy of MLS)

Red Bulls defenders Michael Amir Murillo and Fidel Escobar Monday were named to Panama’s 35-man preliminary World Cup roster in Russia.

Panama qualified for its first World Cup, finishing in third place in the CONCACAF hexagonal.

Los Canaleros were drawn into Group G along with Belgium, England and Tunisia.

Murillo has started 11 games, logging 990 minutes with one goal and one assist, in all competitions this year.

Escobar has started fives games between the Red Bulls and NYRB II, plaing 439 minutes and scoring one goal in United Soccer League action.

They are prepared to depart for Panama’s training camp following match at Atlanta United FC at Mercedes-Benz Stadium May 20.

Panama’s provisional roster

Goalkeepers: José Calderón (Chorrillo FC), Jaime Penedo (Dinamo Bucharest), Alex Rodríguez (San Francisco FC).

Defenders: Azmahar Ariano (Patriotas FC), Felipe Baloy (CSD Municipal), Harold Cummings (San José Earthquakes), Eric Davis (DAC Dunajska Streda), Fidel Escobar (New York Red Bulls), Adolfo Machado (Houston Dynamo), Michael Murillo (New York Red Bulls), Luis Ovalle (CD Olimpia), Francisco Palacios (San Francisco FC), Richard Peralta (Alianza), Román Torres (Seattle Sounders SC).

Midfielders: Ricardo Ávila (KAA Gent), Edgar Barcenas (Cafetaleros de Tapachula), Ricardo Buitrago (CSD Municipal), Miguel Camargo (Universidad San Martín de Porres), Adalberto Carrasquilla (Tauro FC), Armando Cooper (Club Universidad de Chile), Aníbal Godoy (San José Earthquakes), Gabriel Gómez (Bucaramanga), José González (Unión Comercio), Cristian Martínez (Columbus Crew), Valentín Pimentel (Plaza Amador), Alberto Quintero (Universitario de Lima), José Luis Rodríguez (KAA Gent).

Forwards: Abdiel Arroyo (LD Alajuelense), Rolando Blackburn (Chorrillo FC), Ismael Díaz (Deportivo La Coruña), José Fajardo (CA Independiente), Roberto Nurse (Mineros Zacatecas), Blas Pérez (CSD Municipal), Luis Tejada (Sports Boys), Gabriel Torres (CD Huachipato).

Note: All the lists are provisional until FIFA makes the official announcement of the lists of 23 players of the 32 participating teams in the World Cup on June 4.