Former Red Bulls captain Thierry Henry made the National Soccer Hall of Fame ballot. (Winslow Townson/USA TODAY Sports)

Several former members of the Red Bulls, including Juan Pablo Angel and Thierry Henry, were among 32 retired players included on the 2018 National Soccer Hall of Fame ballot, U.S. Soccer announced Monday.

Other former members of the MetroStars/Red Bulls on the ballot were Bobby Convey, Kevin Hartman, Clint Mathis, Jaime Moreno and Ante Razov.

Several high-profile women’s players made the list, including Lori Lindsey, Kate Sobrero Markgraf, Tiffeny Milbrett, Heather Mitts and Aly Wagner.

Players in their first year of eligibility include three-time MLS All-Star and MLS MVP finalist Angel; two-time FIFA World Cup team member, 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup champion and former U.S. MNT captain Carlos Bocanegra; 2006 FIFA World Cup participant Convey; 2010 FIFA World Cup and 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup defender Jay DeMerit; three-time FIFA World Cup goalkeeper Brad Friedel; 1998 World Cup champion and three-time MLS all-star Henry; 2010 FIFA World Cup participant Stuart Holden; 2006 World Cup team member and 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup champion Eddie Johnson; and 2011 Women’s World Cup team member Lori Lindsey.

To be eligible for selection in the player category, an individual must have been retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years and meet one of the following criteria:

* A player must have played at least 20 full international games for the United States. This 20-game requirement is reduced to 10 games if the games were prior to 1990.

* A player must have played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and been a postseason league all-star at least once.

* Played at least five seasons in the Major Indoor Soccer League between the end of the NASL in 1984 and the end of the MISL in 1992 and been selected as a first-team postseason all-star in at least one of those seasons.

The voting committee includes all past and present men’s and women’s full national team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest professional level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS commissioner and NWSL executive director, U.S. Soccer CEO/secretary general, U.S. Soccer president, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the veteran ballot.

Voting began Monday, March 12 and will run through Monday, March 26 for the player, veteran Player and builder categories. The results of the voting will be announced at a later date.

The weekend of Oct. 20-21 will mark the grand opening of the National Soccer Hall of Fame at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. Saturday, Oct. 20 will feature the 2018 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony followed by a performance by the Grammy Award-winning band, Imagine Dragons. On Sunday, Oct. 21, FC Dallas will host Sporting Kansas City in the National Soccer Hall of Fame Game.

The players ballot:

Juan Pablo Angel*
David Beckham
Gregg Berhalter
Carlos Bocanegra*
Steve Cherundolo
Brian Ching
Bobby Convey*
Jeff Cunningham
Jay DeMerit*
Brad Friedel*
Kevin Hartman
Frankie Hejduk
Thierry Henry*
Stuart Holden*
Eddie Johnson*
Chris Klein
Eddie Lewis
Lori Lindsey*
Kate Sobrero Markgraf
Pablo Mastroeni
Clint Mathis
Tiffeny Milbrett
Heather Mitts
Jaime Moreno
Ben Olsen
Pat Onstad
Steve Ralston
Ante Razov**
Tony Sanneh
Taylor Twellman
Aly Wagner
Josh Wolff

*First year of eligibility

**Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2019