Jimmy Maurer started FC Dallas’ first game of the MLS season this past week. (Photo courtesy of the Cosmos)

By Michael Lewis
FrontRowSoccer.com Editor

Since the end of the 2017 North American Soccer League season, 16 players have moved on from the Cosmos.

Some have signed with new teams, whether it is in Major League Soccer, the United Soccer League or overseas. One has decided to retire.

Those 16 players don’t include former head coach Giovanni Savarese, who joined the Portland Timbers in December after five seasons with the club. He directed the Cosmos to three NASL titles.

Midfielder Danny Szetela will become the 16th player after it was learned Wednesday that he will join FC Motown of the National Premier Soccer League.

The Cosmos won’t play in 2018 after the NASL announced it would not have a season this year after the U.S. Soccer Federation rescinded its Division Two status.

In chronological order, here is a quick look where the 16 players have gone:

On Nov. 29, defender David Diosa signed with the Real Monarchs (Untied Soccer League).

On Dec. 18, goalkeeper Jimmy Maurer hooked up with FC Dallas (Major League Soccer).

On Dec. 29, midfielder Irving Herrera returned to his native El Salvador to play with FAS.

On Jan. 2, Argentine forward Pablo Vranjicán joined Alianza Petrolera F.C. (Colombia)

On Jan. 4, midfielder Emmanuel Ledesma signed with FC Cincinnati (USL).

On Jan. 12, defender David Ochieng agreed to play with IF Brommapojkarna of the Swedish First Division.

On Jan. 12, midfielder Javi Marquez signed with Club Gimnàstic de Tarragona of the Spanish Segunda Division.

On Jan. 20, the Cosmos transferred midfielder Eric Calvillo to the San Jose Earthquakes (MLS).

On Jan. 23, right back Ryan Richter announced his retirement as a player to enter the coaching ranks.

On Jan. 24, midfielder Andres Flores was reunited with his former coach, Savarese, as he signed with the Timbers.

On Jan. 30, Canadian international defender Dejan Jaković signed with the Los Angeles Football Club (MLS)

On Jan. 31, midfielder Juan Guerra joined Indy Eleven (USL).

On Feb. 7, defender Ayoze and forward Eugene Starikov inked contract with Indy.

On Feb. 21, Kyle Zobeck signed with FC Dallas.

And on March 7, it was learned that Szetela will play with FC Motown (NPSL).