Fidel Escobar had every reason to be smiling after scoring the winning goal for the Red Bulls in extratime. (Photo courtesy of MLS)

PHOENIX, Ariz. — Talk about leaving it late.

The Red Bulls needed a pair of 11th-hour goals to salvage a 3-2 preseason victory over Phoenix Rising fC at Phoenix Rising FC Soccer Complex Saturday night.

As time was winding down, Vincent Bezecourt tallied the equalizer in the 90th minute before defender Fidel Escobar connected a minute into stoppage time to decide matters.

After snaring a loose ball, Bezecourt knotted things up at 2-2 with a shot in the penalty area.

Seconds later, the Red Bulls were awarded a free kick chance just outside the 18-yard box. Felipe flicked the ball to Escobar, who sent a rocket past the goalkeeper at the near post to complete the stunning comeback.

The United Soccer League side drew first blood in the seventh minute. A cross was cut off by center back Aurelien Collin, who looked to redirect it back towards goalkeeper Luis Robles. However, his back pass sailed over Robles’s reach for an own goal and a 1-0 Phoenix lead.

The visitors responded in the 37th minute. From atop the penalty area, Felipe sent a pass toward the endline for defender Kemar Lawrence, who lofted his pass into the six-yard box. Alex Muyl charged towards the ball and headed in to the near post for the equalizer.

Phoenix grabbed the lead again Devin Vega led a counter attack and found Kevaughn Frater inside the box. Frater took two touches and finished to the far post for the 2-1 advantage in the 71st minute.

Scoring Summary:

PHX – Own Goal (Aurelien Collin) 7′
NY – Alex Muyl (Kemar Lawrence, Felipe) 37′
PHX – Kevaughn Frater (Devin Vega) 71′
NY – Vincent Bezecourt (unassisted) 90′
NY – Fidel Escobar (Felipe) 90+1′

New York Red Bulls: Luis Robles; Michael Amir Murillo, Aaron Long, Aurelien Collin, Kemar Lawrence, Felipe, Tyler Adams, Daniel Royer ©, Sean Davis, Alex Muyl, Bradley Wright-Phillips

Bench: Derrick Etienne, Jr., Connor Lade, Stefano Bonomo, Vincent Bezecourt, Fidel Escobar, Tommy Redding, Carlos Rivas, Amando Moreno, Hassan Ndam, Kyle Duncan, Evan Louro