Christian Pulisic outdistanced Jozy Altidore and Michael Bradley in the voting. ( Photo)

SAN FRANCISCO – This should come as no surprise to any serious U.S. soccer fan.

U.S. international midfielder Christian Pulisic was named runaway winner of the 2017 player of the year Award by Fútbol de Primera Thursday.

The award is voted on by American soccer journalists.

The 19-year-old Pulisic received 254 points, while Jozy Altidore finished second with 95 and Michael Bradley placed third with 75.

A player receives three points for each first-place vote, two points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote. To be eligible, a player must have played in a minimum of three games for the U.S. national team during the calendar year.

Pulisic had nine caps in 2017, scoring six goals. The Borussia Dortmund midfielder tallied his first UEFA Champions League goal against Benfica, making him his Bundeliga team’s youngest goal-scorer in the competition at 18 years, 5 months, and 18 days.

The award has honored 16 players over the past 27 years:

Pulisic (2017), Altidore (2016, 2013), Bradley (2015), Tim Howard (2014), Clint Dempsey (2012, 2011 and 2006), Landon Donovan (2010, 2009, 2008, 2007, 2004, 2003 and 2002), Kasey Keller (2005, 1999), Earnie Stewart (2001), Claudio Reyna (2000), Cobi Jones (1998), Eddie Pope (1997), Eric Wynalda (1996, 1992), Alexi Lalas (1995), Marcelo Balboa (1994), Thomas Dooley (1993) and Hugo Perez (1991).