Alex Morgan also won the CONCACAF female player of the year in 2013 and 2016. (Andy Mead/YCJ Photo)

U.S. national team striker Alex Morgan was named CONCACAF’s female player of the year Sunday night.

The award was announced tonight at the fourth addition of the Premios Univision Deportes, which was held at the Univision Studios in Miami.

In an equally weighted vote among men’s and women’s national team coaches and captains of all the CONCACAF member associations, media and fans, Morgan won the honor for the third time.

She also secured the award last year and in 2013 when it was given out for the first time. A U.S. player has won the CONCACAF female player of the year award every year since its inception.

Abby Wambach earned it in 2014 and Carli Lloyd in 2015.

Morgan spent the first part of this year in France playing with European power Olympique Lyon and helped the club to an historic treble, winning the League, French Cup and Champions League titles. She became the third American to win a UEFA Champions League.

During her stint in France, Morgan played in 15 matches during her stint, seven in the league (five goals), three in the Cup (seven goals) and five in Champions League. She started the Champions League final against rival Paris Saint-Germain but was forced to leave in the 23rd minute after aggravating a hamstring injury.

That injury kept her out of the U.S. June friendlies in Europe, but she returned for the Tournament of Nations and scored in the finale against Japan, starting a streak of seven goals in her final seven international matches of the year. She scored in both year-ending games against Canada. Those seven goals led the team in 2017 and moved her into sole possession of seventh place on the U.S.’s all-time goals list with 80 career goals.

Morgan also ended the National Women’s Soccer League season on a hot streak, tallying nine goals in her last 12 games for the Orlando Pride and finished tied for fifth in the league in goals while helping her team to its first playoff berth. She also had four assists in her 13 regular-season games and was named to the NWSL Second XI.

The CONCACAF male player of the year winner was goalkeeper Keylor Navas of Real Madrid and Costa Rica. The other CONCACAF Awards will be announced next week.