RJ Allen was with NYCFC since its first MLS season in 2015. (Photo courtesy of MLS)

New York City FC did some serious house cleaning Monday afternoon, deciding not to exercise the contract options of 11 players.

Those players were goalkeeper Eirik Johansen, defenders RJ Allen, Frederic Brillant, Shannon Gomez, Jefferson Mena, Andraz Struna and Ethan White, midfielders Miguel Camargo, Mikey Lopez and John Stretzer and forward Sean Okoli.

“New York City FC would like to thank all of the players departing the club at this time and thank each of them for their contributions,” the club said in a statement.

Five players have had their options exercised for the 2018 season – Kwame Awuah, Ronald Matarrita, Andre Rawls, Khiry Shelton and Ben Sweat.

Alexander Callens, Maxime Chanot, Jack Harrison, Yangel Herrera, Sean Johnson, Jonathan Lewis, Maxi Moralez, Tommy McNamara, Alex Ring, James Sands, Rodney Wallace and David Villa had guaranteed contracts for next season.

Former Italian international midfielder Andrea Pirlo announced his retirement at the end of last season.

NYCFC’s current roster

Goalkeepers (2): Sean Johnson, Andre Rawls
Defenders (5): Maxime Chanot, Alexander Callens, James Sands, Ben Sweat, Ronald Matarrita
Midfielders (5): Alex Ring, Kwame Awuah, Yangel Herrera, Maxi Moralez, Tommy McNamara
Forwards (5): David Villa, Jack Harrison, Rodney Wallace, Jonathan Lewis, Khiry Shelton