NEW YORK – Sporting Kansas City goalkeeper Tim Melia of East Islip, N.Y. has been voted the Major League Soccer goalkeeper of the year, it was announced Thursday.

Melia, a graduate of East Islip H.S., put together his strongest season in 2017, leading the league with a 0.78 goals-against average and 78.4 save percentage among goalkeepers to make at least 15 regular-season appearances.

His 10 shutouts also ranked second in the league.

Melia, 31, completed his third season as Sporting’s starting goalkeeper, recording career highs in wins (12), shutouts (10), saves (91), minutes (2,759) and games started (31).

“Thank you for this tremendous award,” Melia said on Twitter. “It is a true honor to receive an accolade such as this. Thank you to all the countless teammates, coaches, staff members, family and friends that made this possible!”

Born in Great River, N.Y., Melia graduated from East Islip High School. He played his college soccer at SUNY-Oneonta and Lynn University. He also performed for the Long Island Rough Riders in the Premier Development League.

While Melia’s season was shortened late this year with a hamstring injury, it did not diminish the impact he had for Sporting this year. Kansas City’s defense led the league, conceding the fewest goals this season with 29. It was the third-lowest total since the league’s 34-game regular season format.

He played a crucial part in Sporting’s run to the Lamar Hunt/U.S. Open Cup crown. He shone with two saves in a shootout to defeat the San Jose Earthquakes in the semifinals Aug. 9. Melia anchored Sporting’s defense for a 2-1 win over the Red Bulls on Sept. 20 to earn the championship. It marked Melia’s second Open Cup crown with Sporting, following up his 2015 title.

Melia became the organization’s third MLS goalkeeper of the year recipient, joining the ranks of National Soccer Hall of Famer Tony Meola (2000) and Jimmy Nielsen (2012). Sporting is the first MLS club to have three different goalkeeper of the year award winners. The San Jose Earthquakes have claimed the honor three times, with Pat Onstad winning twice.

Melia received 50.29 percent of the average vote, compiled from three groups: active players, media and club technical staff.

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Player Vote % Club Vote % Media Vote % Average %
Tim Melia (SKC) 46.12% 48.81% 55.95% 50.29%
Andre Blake (PHI) 15.51% 7.14% 7.74% 10.13%
Stefan Frei (SEA) 4.49% 7.14% 13.10% 8.24%
Alex Bono (TOR) 2.86% 5.95% 4.17% 4.33%
Sean Johnson (NYC) 2.86% 4.76% 5.36% 4.33%
Brad Guzan (ATL) 3.67% 2.38% 1.79% 2.61%

Allstate Goalkeeper of the Year Winners:

2017: Tim Melia – Sporting Kansas City
2016: Andre Blake – Philadelphia Union
2015: Luis Robles – New York Red Bulls
2014: Bill Hamid – D.C. United
2013: Donovan Ricketts – Portland Timbers
2012: Jimmy Nielsen – Sporting Kansas City
2011: Kasey Keller – Seattle Sounders FC
2010: Donovan Ricketts – LA Galaxy
2009: Zach Thornton – Chivas USA
2008: Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
2007: Brad Guzan – Chivas USA
2006: Troy Perkins – D.C. United
2005: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2004: Joe Cannon – Colorado Rapids
2003: Pat Onstad – San Jose Earthquakes
2002: Joe Cannon – San Jose Earthquakes
2001: Tim Howard – MetroStars
2000: Tony Meola – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Kevin Hartman – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Zach Thornton – Chicago Fire
1997: Brad Friedel – Columbus Crew
1996: Mark Dodd – Dallas Burn