CHICAGO – U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach John Hackworth has selected 24 players to take part in a nine-day training camp at the Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton, Ore. from Aug. 5-13.

The roster includes defender Christopher Gloster of the Red Bulls and Montclair, N.J. and forward Josh Sargent, who led the team in scoring during the CONCACAF U-17 Championship earlier this year and enjoyed a breakout performance in the U-20 World Cup in Korea.

The camp will include to friendlies against Chile, runners-up in the South American U-17 Championship earlier this year. The camp, which will serve as a preparation stage for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup, marks the second domestic gathering for the U-17 MNT since they qualified for the World Cup at the CONCACAF U-17 Championship.

“As we continue to prepare for the World Cup, our staff has put this roster together with the idea of keeping a core of the team together while still trying to give opportunities to players that we need to evaluate,” Hackworth said. “As I’ve said before, the talent in this age group is deep, so it is always a challenge to finalize the roster due to the competition for spots. We hope that drives both the individuals and group to train and compete at the highest level.”

Twenty of the 24 players return from the team’s last meeting, a nine-day training camp at Atlanta United FC in July.

The U.S. is set to kick off against host India on opening night of the U-17 World Cup Oct. 6, followed by group stage matches with Ghana Oct. 9 and Colombia Oct. 12. The first two games will be played at Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi, while the third will be played at Dr. DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

The roster

GOALKEEPERS (3): Alex Budnik (Sockers FC; Arlington Heights, Ill.), Justin Garces (Atlanta United FC; Miami, Fla.), Quantrell Jones (Baltimore Celtic; Baltimore, Md.)

DEFENDERS (9): Jake Arteaga (LA Galaxy, Glendora, Calif.), Carlos Asensio (Atlanta United FC; Roswell, Ga.), Ethan Bartlow (Crossfire Premier; Woodinville, Wash.), Jean-Julien Foe Nuphaus (San Jose Earthquakes; San Jose, Calif), Christopher Gloster (New York Red Bulls; Montclair, N.J.), Jaylin Lindsey (Sporting Kansas City; Charlotte, N.C.), Tyler Shaver (Beachside SC; Greenwich, Conn.), Arturo Vasquez (FC Golden State; Mira Loma, Calif.), Akil Watts (IMG Academy; Fort Wayne, Ind.)

MIDFIELDERS (5): George Acosta (Weston FC; Hollywood, Fla.), Taylor Booth (Real Salt Lake; Eden, Utah), Blaine Ferri (Solar Chelsea SC; Southlake, Tex.), Alex Mendez (LA Galaxy; Los Angeles, Calif.), Indiana Vassilev (IMG Academy; Savannah, Ga.)

FORWARDS (7): Ayo Akinola (Toronto FC; Brampton, Ont.), Matthew Hundley (Real Colorado; Littleton, Colo.), Ulysses Llanez (LA Galaxy; Lynwood, Calif.), Brayan Padilla (FC Dallas; Frisco, Tex.), Bryan Reynolds (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Tex.), Joshua Sargent (Scott Gallagher Missouri; O’Fallon, Mo.), Sebastian Soto (Real Salt Lake; Carlsbad, Calif.)