Canada upgraded its striker position with the addition of Cyle Larin. (Photo courtesy of Canadian Soccer Association)

Canada Sunday added striker Cyle Larin to its team for the knockout round of the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The 22-year old striker from Brampton, Ontario joined the Canadian team ahead of Thursday’s quarterfinal in Glendale, Ariz.

Larin, who recently returned to action for Orlando City SC, replaced Raheem Edwards of Toronto FC.

As per tournament regulations, teams can make up to six changes after the group stage, but can only carry a squad of maximum 23 players.

On June 27, following an assessment by the MLS’ Substance Abuse and Behavioral Health Program doctors, the Orlando City SC striker was allowed to return to his club as he continued participation in the program locally.

During the counseling, Larin has been eligible for team activities and competitions, the league said.

On June 15, he was arrested on a DUI charge.

This will mark Larin’s second participation at a Gold Cup. A two-time runner up in voting for Canadian player of the Year honors (2015 and 2016), Larin has scored five goals in 20 international matches.

For Orlando, he has scored 39 goals in 76 matches, winning MLS rookie of the year honors in 2015.

Cosmos center back Dejan Jakovic remained on the team for the knockout round.

The roster

1- GK- Maxime Crépeau | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
2- FB- Fraser Aird | / Unattached
3- CB- Manjrekar James | HUN / Vasas Budapest
4- FB- Samuel Adekugbe | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
5- CB- Dejan Jaković | USA / New York Cosmos
6- M- Samuel Piette | ESP / CD Izarra
7- M- Russell Teibert | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
8- M- Scott Arfield | ENG / Burnley FC
9- F- Lucas Cavallini | URU / CA Peñarol
10- M- David Junior Hoilett | WAL / Cardiff City FC
11- F- Tosaint Ricketts | CAN / Toronto FC
12- M- Alphonso Davies | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
14- M- Mark-Anthony Kaye | USA / Louisville City FC
15- CB- Adam Straith | CAN / FC Edmonton
16- M- Anthony Jackson-Hamel | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
17- FB- Marcel de Jong | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC
18- GK- Milan Borjan | POL / MKS Korona Kielce
19- CB- Steven Vitória | POL / Lechia Gdańsk
20- M- Patrice Bernier | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
21- M- Jonathan Osorio | CAN / Toronto FC
22- GK- Jayson Leutwiler | ENG / Shrewsbury Town FC
23- M- Michael Petrasso | ENG / Queens Park Rangers
24- F- Cyle Larin | USA / Orlando City SC