NYCFC’s Tommy McNamara is eligible to play in the CONCACAF Gold Cup. (Noah K. Murray/USA TODAY Sports)

CHICAGO — New York City FC midfielder-forward Tommy McNamara was named to the 40-player preliminary roster for this summer’s CONCACAF Gold Cup by head coach Bruce Arena.

McNamara started and played 79 minutes of City’s 2-1 comeback home win over the Philadelphia Union Saturday.

No Red Bulls player were named to the roster. That includes goalkeeper Luis Robles and midfielder Sacha Kljestan, who were in the U.S. January training camp.

Tournament rules require the final 23-player roster to be turned in to CONCACAF no later than June 27. All players on the final list must come from the preliminary roster.

The U.S. will begin Gold Cup training camp in Nashville, Tenn. June 25, before traveling to East Hartford, Conn., for a warm-up game against Ghana on July 1 at Pratt & Whitney Stadium. The USMNT returns to Nashville for its tournament opener against Panama on July 8 at Nissan Stadium, before venturing to Tampa’s Raymond James Stadium for a July 12 clash with Martinique. The USA closes group play on July 15 against Nicaragua at FirstEnergy Stadium in Cleveland, Ohio.

The preliminary roster:

GOALKEEPERS (6): Joe Bendik (Orlando City SC), Jesse Gonzalez (FC Dallas), Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Sean Johnson (New York City FC)

DEFENDERS (12): Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Greg Garza (Atlanta United FC), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Matt Miazga (Chelsea/ENG), Justin Morrow (Toronto FC/CAN), Matt Polster (Chicago Fire), Jonathan Spector (Orlando City SC), Jorge Villafaña (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (15): Paul Arriola (Club Tijuana/MEX), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC/CAN), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana/MEX), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Tommy McNamara (New York City FC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Chris Pontius (Philadelphia Union), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC), Kelyn Rowe (New England Revolution), Kenny Saief (Gent/BEL), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy)

FORWARDS (7): Juan Agudelo (New England Revolution), Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC/CAN), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), C.J. Sapong (Philadelphia Union), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)