Former Cosmos and Arrows goalkeeper Shep Messing was one of 15 former players on the Hall of Fame’s veteran ballot. (Andy Mead/YCJ Photo)

The National Soccer Hall of Fame Wednesday announced that 15 former players were up for selection on the veteran ballot.

Former Cosmos and New York Arrows goalkeeper Shep Messing, ex-Cosmos midfielder Chico Borja and former Red Bulls midfielder Chris Henderson were among the players included on the ballot.

The announcement of the winner and induction site will be announced at a future date.

That Hall category is voted on only by current Hall of Famers after the list has been narrowed down by a screening committee.

Voters can name up to five veteran candidates and the top vote-getter will be elected as long as he or she appears on a minimum of 50 percent of the ballots. If no individual appears on 50 percent of the ballots, then no Veteran will be elected to the 2017 Class.

More than one candidate may be elected in the event of a tie.

In order to be eligible for election as a veteran, an individual must be retired for more than 10 years, and have either: 1) Played in at least 20 international games for the U.S. This requirement is reduced to 10 games if the games were prior to 1990, or 2) Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and selected as league All-Star at least once, or 3) Played at least five seasons in the MISL between 1984 and the end of the league in 1992, and been selected as a first-team postseason All-Star in at least one of those seasons.

2017 National Soccer Hall of Fame veteran ballot

George Best

Chico Borja

Mike Burns

John Doyle

Marco Etcheverry

Linda Hamilton

Mary Harvey

Chris Henderson

Dominic Kinnear

Shep Messing

Cindy Parlow

Tiffany Roberts

Mike Sorber

Tisha Venturini-Hoch

Roy Wegerle