Chris Armas is in his final year of eligiblity on the player ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame. Andy Mead/YCJ Photo)

CHICAGO — Ten players from the metropolitan area or who have played for the MetroStars/Red Bulls or coached at New York City FC have been named on the player ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2017 ballot, it was announced Wednesday afternoon.

Thirty-three players are on the ballot. Voting will begin immediately.

Chris Armas, a former Adelphi University standout and midfielder on the U.S. teams that won the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2002 and 2005, and midfielder-forward Jason Kreis, the 1999 Major League Soccer leading goal scorer and most valuable player, are in their final year of eligibility.

The area players include:

* Midfielder Chris Armas

* Defender Chris Albright

* Defender Gregg Berhalter

* MIdfielder Eddie Gaven

* Midfielder Amado Guevara

* Goalkeeper Kevin Hartman

* Midfielder-forward Jason Kreis

* Midfielder-forward Clint Mathis

* Midfielder-forward Jaime Moreno

* Forward Ante Razov

The results of the voting and induction ceremony details for the Class of 2017 will be announced at a later date.

Players in their first year of eligibility include the following: 2006 World Cup participant and 15-year MLS veteran Chris Albright; two-time MLS Cup champion and three-time MLS All-Star David Beckham; 2002 Gold Cup, MLS Cup and MLS Supporters Shield champion Danny Califf; two-time MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and MLS Cup champion Joe Cannon; three-time FIFA World Cup squad member and 14-year U.S. MNT veteran Steve Cherundolo; three-time MLS Cup Champion, all-time Houston Dynamo leading goal scorer and 2007 Gold Cup champion Brian Ching; 2007 Women’s World Cup participant Tina Frimpong Ellertson; 2008 MLS Cup champion Eddie Gaven; seven-year MLS veteran and 2004 MLS Most Valuable Player Amado Guevara; two-time MLS Goalkeeper of the Year and all-time leader in MLS appearances Kevin Hartman; 2002 and 2006 World Cup participant and 2007 and 2007 Gold Cup champion Pablo Mastroeni; 2007 Women’s World Cup participant Leslie Osborne.

In order to be eligible for election as a player, an individual must be retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and have either: 1) Played in at least 20 full international games for the U.S.; if played prior to 1990, the game requirement is reduced to 10 games, or 2) Played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and named to a postseason league all-star team at least once.

The voting pool includes all past and present full men’s and women’s national team coaches, all active MLS and National Women’s Soccer League head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL Commissioners/Executive Director, U.S. Soccer CEO/secretary general, U.S. Soccer president, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the veteran ballot.

Here is a list of all the players eligible in the voting:

Chris Albright*

Chris Armas**

David Beckham*

Gregg Berhalter

Danny Califf*

Joe Cannon*

Steve Cherundolo*

Brian Ching*

Jeff Cunningham

Tina Frimpong Ellerston*

Eddie Gaven*

Amado Guevara*

Kevin Hartman*

Frankie Hejduk

Chris Klein

Jason Kreis**

Eddie Lewis

Kate Sobrero Markgraf

Pablo Mastroeni*

Clint Mathis

Tiffeny Milbrett

Heather Mitts

Jaime Moreno

Ben Olsen

Pat Onstad

Leslie Osborne*

Steve Ralston

Ante Razov

Tony Sanneh

Briana Scurry

Taylor Twellman

Aly Wagner

Josh Wolff

* First year of eligibility

** Final year of eligibility; moves to Veteran ballot in 2018

Front Row Soccer editor Michael Lewis has covered 13 World Cups (eight men, five women), seven Olympics and 25 MLS Cups. He has written about New York City FC, New York Cosmos, the New York Red Bulls and both U.S. national teams for Newsday and has penned a soccer history column for the Lewis, who has been honored by the Press Club of Long Island and National Soccer Coaches Association of America, is the former editor of He has written seven books about the beautiful game and has published ALIVE AND KICKING The incredible but true story of the Rochester Lancers. It is available at